Top Ten Tuesday: Top 11 Best Books of 2016

It’s another Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by  The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Tuesday at The Green Mockingbird

It’s that time of year again! Time for my “favorites” post of 2016, AND just in time for the same #TTT topic. This year’s list was difficult to compile, to say the least. I’ve read a whopping total of 61 books this year (at press time), a few being rereads and some novellas. I was determined to limit my list somewhat this year, so we have 11 novels plus a couple “bonus” novellas. Surprisingly, all of the novels are 2016 releases, but the novellas range from 2014-2016. Most of these authors are familiar favorites and always “must-reads”, so it’s no surprise to me that my favorites stem from this group.

Now, on to the books!!!

Top Ten Best Books of 2016

Historical Fiction

A Flight of Arrowsthe-lady-and-the-lionheartThe Thorn Keeperthe-cautious-maidenThe Sound of Emeralds

1. A Flight of Arrows by Lori Benton

A riveting, fascinating conclusion to her “Pathfinders” duology.

2. The Lady and the Lionheart by Joanne Bischof

Seriously now one of my all-time favorite books! Go read it. Achingly sweet and heart-wrenching in the best way.

3. The Thorn Keeper by Pepper D. Basham

Really, the whole “Penned in Time” series is amazing, but this one is my favorite for several reasons…. one of them having to do with Christmas 😉

4. The Cautious Maiden by Dawn Crandall

Another great story from Dawn, this one uniquely uses only the heroine’s first person POV.

5. The Sound of Emeralds by Rachelle Rea Cobb

A fantastic conclusion to Rachelle’s debut series, this brings the characters full circle with some amazing surprises. #TeamDirk

Contemporary Fiction

Together at the Table by Hillary Manton LodgeLike Never Before by Melissa TaggYou're the One that I WantTold You Twice by Kristen Heitzmanna-portrait-of-emily-pricewhere-two-hearts-meet

6. Together at the Table by Hillary Manton Lodge

Ahh! This one made me hungry, laugh, and cry. Oh, and try out a new recipe or two I discovered while reading.

7. Like Never Before by Melissa Tagg

Definitely my favorite of the Walker family series so far! The cover alone should be enough to convince you of the adorableness that is Loganand Amelia, but the emotional depth is what gets me with all of Melissa’s stories.

8. You’re the One That I Want by Susan May Warren

While I’ve loved each book in the Christiansen family series, this one, being the last, made so many pieces fall in place. It drew everything together with a huge thread of grace, and that’s why I loved it.

9. Told You Twice by Kristen Heitzmann

Unexpected and fresh, Kristen is not afraid to depict life in both raw and redemptive manners through storytelling.

10. A Portrait of Emily Price by Katherine Reay

Another one that made me hungry! Ha! Katherine always surprises me with the direction and vast changes she leads her characters through. This one was pleasantly amazing.

11. Where Two Hearts Meet by Liz Johnson

One of the sweetest contemporary love stories I’ve read in a long time… and I’m not even talking about the cinnamon rolls and muffins! This one is just “good” for your heart.

Bonus! Favorite Novellas

playing-with-firethis-quiet-skya-night-like-no-other

Playing With Fire by Susan May Warren

The two main characters’ mutual complex history combined with a current-day crazy action/suspense situation made this my favorite of the Montana Fire trilogy.

This Quiet Sky by  Joanne Bischof

Poignant and beautiful, this goes beyond typical coming-of-age story expectations and tore into my heart unexpectedly.

A Night Like No Other by Kristin Vayden

I think this one will be a Christmas season reread every year now for its genuine and Biblical portrayal of Mary and Joseph’s experiences.

Your turn!!! What are your favorite books from 2016? Did you read any of my favorites? Share your thoughts in the comments!

24 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top 11 Best Books of 2016

  1. Courtney, such a delight to have The Lady and the Lionheart AND This Quiet Sky on your list! What a joyous surprise. I only was able to read a few books this year, probably less than ten, so I have many to still read here! A Flight of Arrows is one that I was able to read and it was amazing.

    • My pleasure! I’m very glad you did read A Flight of Arrows…. I agree, it was amazing! Have you also read The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn by Lori Benton? It’s still my absolute favorite of hers, I think.

  2. Quite a few of my favourites appear on this list, but Rachelle Rea and Dawn Crandall are two that I keep hearing about and want to check out. There are also two on this list that I desperately wanted to read this year and haven’t managed to fit in – Told You Twice and The Lady and the Lionheart. I am DEFINITELY making time for them in 2017!

    • Yay for mutual favorites!!!! You should check out Rachelle and Dawn, for sure! They are both wonderful storytellers. My advice would be to start at the beginning of each of their series, just because you can. Fun fact: they both write from first person POV — and do so with skill!

      I hope you do get to read Told You Twice and The Lady and the Lionheart in 2017 because they are both amazing! I’m so glad you dropped by my TTT post!

  3. I have read several of these books and have some of the others on my must-read-soon list. Great choices! Must. Read. Faster!

  4. YAY!!! Courtney!!! Thank you! Thank you!!! and YES, you picked MY favorite from the Penned in Time series too 😉 #tasteslikechristmas #davidross

    • I really like The Goodbye Bride, too! I enjoyed the unique predicament the characters were in– it made for some fun scenes! I haven’t read anything by Kristi Ann Hunter, but I keep hearing great things about her books! I will have to add them to my TBR for 2017. Thank you for sharing some of your favorites!

  5. Love your list, Courtney! We have a few in common! 🙂 I’m working on my best of list now and can’t wait to share it with everyone!

  6. I am so blessed by this, Courtney! Thank you for reading and including Emeralds–I’m honored. So glad that you love it! #TeamDirk 😉

    • Rachelle, thank you! I hope your author career continues and you can be a part of many favorites lists to come. And ALWAYS #TeamDirk 🙂

  7. Pingback: My FAVORITE Readers I met this year | Pepper D Basham

  8. Love your list, Courtney! I’ve only read a couple on here, but the rest are on my to-be-read. We have one in common – The Cautious Maiden! Loved Dawn’s latest so much. Happy 2017!

    • Thank you, Bekah! I must say, your TBR will be fun to tackle 😉

      Yes, Dawn’s was so awesome. Probably my favorite of the series! Happy 2017 to you, too!

  9. OhMyGoodnes! So many favorites do we share. I mean, there’s Joanne’s, Melissa’s, Hillary’s, and Katherine’s. Gotta love all those beautiful stories! Here’s to a fabulous 2017 full of good books, and great conversations. Looking forward to what it has in store for this little corner of the web. 🙂 #Bookbesties

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.