Best of 2019: Contemporary Fiction

Welcome to my annual “best-of” celebration! Like last year, I’m separating the categories of my yearly best-of lists over a few days. It’s going to take me a few days to talk about all the stories I loved in 2019!

I have exceeded my reading goals for 2019 according to my Goodreads reading challenge! If you’d like to see all of my 5-star reads and extensive reviews, just check out my completed Goodreads challenge or browse my blog archives. Each day leading up to New Year’s Day you’ll get a new post about my 2019 favorites:

  1. Best of 2019: Novellas & Audiobooks
  2. Best of 2019: Contemporary Fiction
  3. Best of 2019: (General) Historical Fiction
  4. Best of 2019: (Inspirational) Historical Fiction
  5. Best of 2019: Film & TV
  6. Best of 2019: Happy New Year #OnTheBlog

The rules: because sometimes I need to keep things brief, I’m choosing to share 3 things that describe each of these stories along with a link to Goodreads and my review.

Today is all about contemporary fiction! On my list you’ll find light hearted contemporary romance, women’s fiction, a thriller, and a bit of a mystery, and some more serious drama.

Best of 2019: Contemporary Fiction

A Match for Emma by Pepper Basham | Review

Friendship. Trust. Appalachian humor.

After the Rain by Brandy Bruce | Review

Growing. Emotional complexity. Unconditional love.

Storm Rising by Ronie Kendig | Review

Adrenaline. Brotherhood. Globe-trotting spy stuff.

Brunch at Bittersweet Café by Carla Laureano | Review

Heart-friendship. Foodie environment. Hope.

The Waves by Amy Matayo | Review

Romantic chemistry. Sarcasm. Contrast of hope and loss.

How the Light Gets In by Jolina Petersheim | Review

Surrender. Emotional twists. Compelling retelling of Ruth.

The Printed Letter Bookshop by Katherine Reay | Review

Story for booknerds. Faith. Magnetic romance.

Wooing Cadie McCaffrey by Bethany Turner | Review

Resonating candor. Authentic faith. Classic movies.

Sweet On You by Becky Wade | Review

Sweet – the chocolate & romance. Mystery to solve. Wonderful family dynamics.

Just One Kiss by Courtney Walsh | Review

Rekindled love. Small town charm. The “whys”.

11 thoughts on “Best of 2019: Contemporary Fiction

  1. I want to take a pic of your graphic for whenever I’m discouraged! Thank you for including Jon and Emma into your wonderful list, Courtney!!

  2. Pingback: Best of 2019: Novellas & Audiobooks – The Green Mockingbird

  3. Pingback: Best of 2019: (General) Historical Fiction – The Green Mockingbird

  4. Awww! Love “Sweet on You,” and “Brunch at Bittersweet Cafe.” However, two I didn’t get to read were Bethany’s and Katherine’s! Have to make those priority in 2020. 🙂

    • I admit I’m drawn to books about food lol. (Sweet on You and “Brunch”).

      Oh you MUST read them both in 2020! (Here I am being bossy 😉 ). They are both “fresh” takes on Christian fiction, I think.

  5. Pingback: Best of 2019: (Inspirational) Historical Fiction – The Green Mockingbird

  6. Pingback: Best of 2019: Film & TV + Top Ten Tuesday – The Green Mockingbird

  7. Pingback: Best of 2019: Happy New Year #OntheBlog – The Green Mockingbird

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.