Series Thoughts: The Droseran Saga by Ronie Kendig

I want to share my obsesssion love for The Droseran Saga by Ronie Kendig, a space opera series! I’m adding a few brief thoughts on each book. PLEASE note that mild spoilers exist in reading the synopsis for each book, so if book 1 sounds intriguing to you, I think you should start there. Trust me, you will love Marco & company! (Titles below linked to Goodreads for more book info)

As I have mentioned before, sci-fi is not usually my go-to genre for reading. I DO love a good sci-fi movie, though, and am firmly in the Star Wars fan camp (sorry not sorry, Trekkies). Since I have enjoyed Ronie Kendig’s military-adjacent action novels before, trying her foray into a space opera saga was an easy decision. However, it took me wayyyyyy too long to pick up book 1, even though it was sitting prettily on my shelf since its debut. Last year, I determined I would start reading The Droseran Saga via the audiobook versions, and I’m a changed reader today because I did.

Side note: The audiobook productions for books 1-3 are a-mazingly impressive. Narrated by Adam Gold (what a voice — a pleasure to hear), the whole audio experience is an impressive exposition thanks to his many character voices and effects. Book 4 isn’t available as an audiobook, so I resorted to old fashioned reading for the series conclusion.

Starting with Brand of Light, it was tough to put these books down (or hit “pause”) when I needed to because I just wanted to know what would happen next!? This entire series is impressive with its overarching themes and symbolism which can be seen as an allegorical look at faith, God’s sovereignty and plan, and a battle of good vs evil. That takes place on multiple planets and has a few aliens, too. Ha.

In homage to the series, I have created a whole Pinterest board for its aesthetic…. you can see a little of it paired with each cover below, too.

Book 1: Brand of Light

Brand of Light Aesthetic. Images courtesy of Pinterest.

Brand of Light was an engaging story with mind-blowing concepts (hello, Marco and his “gift”) from the very start. I realized the rest of the series would be epic! I had a few ideas of what could be ahead for Marco and Kersei, but in true Kendig style, twists and surprises were in store with a ton of action, and a little hope for romance.

Another character who stole my attention and heart in Brand of Light was Tigo Dekken. I just ❤ him! While the main focus of the whole series was Marco and his path of honor and purpose, Tigo was an important main character to root for and *enjoy* as he learned a lot about himself and his funny and surprising team along the way.

Kersei was a key character, too, as her story throughout was about growth and coming into her own identity. She became a better person over the course of these stories because of her experiences, even her heartaches and losses.

Book 2: Dawn of Vengeance

Dawn of Vengeance Aesthetic. Images courtesy of Pinterest.

The second book, Dawn of Vengeance went in a direction wholly unexpected that I enjoyed SO much. It introduced new characters in the world and became a little introspective at times, especially concerning Marco’s story. Isaura, too, was a new central character and quite easy to love + root for with her compassion and light.

Dawn of Vengeance brings Ixion Mavridis, skilled warrior and right-hand man to Marco, to a key role starting with this book. I enjoyed the tough truths he always shared and the often-gruff way he had with words. Yet, beneath all of his toughness and bravado, his heart and loyalty were fierce and true.

Book 3: Shadow of Honor

Shadow of Honor Aesthetic. Images courtesy of Pinterest.

Shadow of Honor brought a new level of obsession for me and this series. Haha. Through all of it, I was continually impressed with the world-building and the aplomb with which the cast of characters was explored. The whole is exemplary of how Kendig skillfully depicts ensemble casts and a few switches of POV without ever losing story momentum. This book, in particular, made me root for and want the change (dare I say redemption) of a certain person, who shall remain nameless because #spoilers.

There were many things to love about this one: The twists! The soul-deep connection between Marco and his love! Eija! The Ladies (especially some surprises where they were concerned IYKYK). The bigger picture and themes of honor, redemption, and even an impressive conversation serving as a metaphor for faith, free will, and the role of purpose and choice in our lives.

Book 4: War of Torment

War of Torment Aesthetic. Images courtesy of Pinterest.

War of Torment is the culmination of quite the epic storyline! It delivers 1,000% with dynamic themes of redemption, purpose, faith, and good vs evil with supernatural elements. On top of this, there are threads of friendship, romance, loyalty, and twists — especially some big reveals in this final book. War of Torment had me in tears more than once, and feeling all the triumphs and losses alongside these characters who became beloved over the story experience.

Bottom line: If you are remotely interested in reading a space opera saga or a sci-fi story with almost medieval elements, I highly recommend you give this series a shot!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.