First Line Fridays # 22: “Wait for Me” by Susan May Warren

It’s time for a new edition of First Line Fridays hosted by the Hoarding Books blog!

20171006_010334.jpg

Happy weekend! It’s turning chilly in my corner of the world as fall is fading. It’s the perfect weather to curl up in a cozy place with a book!!! Today I’m sharing the first line of a book I’m VERY MUCH anticipating: Wait for Me by Susan May Warren. It’s the last book in her “Montana Rescue” series, and it’s a finale (and couple) I’ve been rooting for since the beginning!

I still need to read the book just before this one, Storm Front, so the good news is I can binge-read both of them soon!

Wait for Me by Susan May Warren

First Line:

He wasn’t looking for trouble, but if Pete didn’t act right now, at least one person was going to die.

What a first line, right? What kind of situation do you think Pete is in? (Do you think it involves his search-and-rescue team or something else?)

Your turn! Find the book closest to you and share your first line in the comments! Then, head over to Hoarding Books for the linky and visit other FLF posts!

16 thoughts on “First Line Fridays # 22: “Wait for Me” by Susan May Warren

  1. I’m reading this next. I can’t wait!

    I’m featuring the first line from Angela K. Couch’s brand new release “The Tory’s Daughter” on my blog, but here, I’m going to share the first line of “Little Women”, which I’ve just started listening to via audiobook:

    “Christmas won’t be Christmas without any presents,” grumbled Jo, lying on the rug.

    Have a great weekend!

    • Little Women is so wonderful! (Though I don’t think I have read the entire book. I made it until Jo moved to the boardinghouse and needed to change things up with my reading routine. I did read the abridged children’s copy, and dearly love the movies!)

      I hope your weekend was wonderful!

  2. My first line comes from A Fall of Marigolds by Susan Meissner:

    Manhattan
    September 2011

    The length of floral-patterned challis rested on the cutting table like a bridal bouquet undone.

    Happy Weekend and Happy Reading!!!

  3. Today is book launch day for my latest Regency novel, so I’m featuring it on First Line Friday on my blog. However, I am currently reading A Tale of Two Hearts by Michelle Griep. I will share from the third chapter, which is where I’m at. “It was a grisly kind of day.”

  4. Over on my blog I’m sharing the first line from A Musket In My Hands by Sandra Merville Hart. Here I’ll share the first line from chapter 8.
    “Callie’s fingers shook as she signed the document to enter the army.”

    Wishing you a wonderful weekend with lots of time to enjoy reading!

  5. Happy Friday!
    This week on my blog I shared The House on Foster Hill by Jaime Jo Wright but I’m currently reading A Light on a Hill by Connilyn Cossette so I’ll share the first line from my current chapter (30) here: “Staying close to the narrow river that now barreled downhill through the valley toward Beit She’an, we kept within the trees as much as possible.” Hope you have a great weekend!

  6. Happy Weekend! My first line is from Wait for Me by Susan May Warren, also!

    “He wasn’t looking for trouble, but if Pete didn’t act right now, at least one person was going to die.”

    • How fun! I had to read a few more lines, of course, but I am making myself wait until I can read the last two books back-to-back. SOON.

  7. Happy Friday! I’m sharing from An Unseemly Wife by E.B. Moore on my blog. Here is the first sentence from Chapter 6:

    “On and on, they rode alone through the woods, between the branches, a flaming sun setting thin clouds aglow, until one night the sky cleared to a deep black studded with uncountable white points.”

  8. I also featured this book this week – great minds! Here I will share the first line from my current read, In Too Deep by Lynn Blackburn:
    “The shrill ping of his cell phone earned white-collar crimes investigator Adam Campbell a vicious glare from his aunt Margaret.”

    • That first line makes me smile! I can just imagine the aunt! 🙂 Great minds do think alike. Happy reading!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.