Book Review: “Beloved” by Robin Lee Hatcher

Beloved  The novel Beloved by Robin Lee Hatcher is a dramatic tale set in Boise, Idaho at the turn of the 20th century. It follows Diana Brennan and her experiences with her estranged husband. After eight years, Tyson Applegate has returned requesting Diana give him a second chance and assist him in running for Senator for the state of Idaho. Diana, who believed he was dead for many years, is almost engaged to be married to another man, Brook. She allows Tyson back in her life on a temporary basis, in exchange for the promise of future provisions for herself and her mother. Can she possibly give him a second chance at proving his change of heart and at winning hers?

I’m new to Robin’s work, but let me tell you – I’m now a big fan! Beloved is the third in the Where the Heart Lives” series, but can most definitely be read as a stand-alone title (I have not read the other two, which feature Diana’s siblings as the main characters). Diana’s and Tyson’s characters are very realistic, with flaws, shortcomings, and mistakes abounding. The main themes of this novel are second chances and the golden rule. Each character realizes what it means to love unselfishly and put others first.

At the end of each chapter, Robin employs a brief flashback from the perspective of either Diana or Tyson. These few paragraphs tell the history of Diana and Tyson’s relationship. They begin with the time they first meet and lead up to an explanation for Tyson’s sudden return. Through the course of the entire story, small bits of each characters’ past are revealed, adding depth and understanding to their present attitudes.

I really enjoyed this work of historical fiction, and would recommend it to anyone who loves this genre!

Note: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com® <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

8 thoughts on “Book Review: “Beloved” by Robin Lee Hatcher

  1. Almost done with this one. It’s really sweet though if memory serves correctly I think I like some of Robin’s prior work even better! 🙂 Glad you liked this one, Courtney.

      • Indeed! I think both Tyson and Diana are interesting, well developed characters. 🙂

        Always happy to comment, Courtney; I’ve been shamefully neglecting my WordPress reader of late though! :/

  2. I enjoyed this one too :). I really liked the first one on the series as well. The second one wasn’t bad, but not my fav either. Excited to post my review soon too!

Leave a Reply

