Review: “When I Lost My Way” by Jennifer Rodewald

I’m thrilled to share with you about an indie-published new release ~ When I Lost My Way by Jennifer Rodewald. It’s the second story in her Big Prairie romance series, though it can be read as a standalone. Some characters from book one make an appearance, though, so it is fun to know the context of their story, too!

Review of Book 1: When I Come Home Again

About the Book

Their whirlwind romance takes the hard road toward happily-ever-after as disaster tests their love for each other and their faith in God’s goodness.

Sophie Shultz smiles at her future, even when she doesn’t feel like it, but when a country drive leaves this city-girl stranded in the mud, the cowboy who stops to help gives her plenty to smile about. For real. Lance Carson is tall, handsome, and kind, if a little on the quiet side—not to mention the owner of Big Prairie’s celebrated vineyard.

Lance has always had a decided preference for solitude, but when he rescues Sophie he develops a whole new appreciation for companionship. It doesn’t take long for him to lose his heart as she fills the aching void life’s disappointments have left behind. But a family issue has put him in a hard spot, pushing him to a decision that will ruin his relationship with many of Big Prairie’s citizens—and devastate Sophie, who adores her newly adopted hometown. Before he can figure out how to tell her, someone tattles on his plans.

As their relationship is put to the test, conflict presses in from every side. Can this rapidly grown romance sink its roots deep enough to weather the storms, or will Lance and Sophie both lose their way?

Goodreads | Amazon

Review

When I Lost My Way is a beautiful story of romance, grace, and trusting in God’s strength.

I loved Sophie and Lance SO MUCH. Their rapport, from their slight humor to the almost-flirting and deep heart conversations, is natural and realistic. Their romance is sweet and selfless, highlighting how really knowing someone takes time and a desire to understand the other person’s motives and choices. I appreciate how they face their trials head on with honesty, even when it’s painful. One timely issue Jennifer sensitively sheds light on within their relationship is judgement and its ill effects, all in the context of relationship choices, identity, and skin color, referring to Biblical truths to shed light and draw the reader to a place of empathy.

I will be thinking about the deeper threads of this story long after the last page. Through the challenges, Sophie relies on God in an admirable way. Her trust in uncertainty and the way she seeks wisdom from scripture, her parents, and a respected friend is something to aspire to. Lance’s growth is relatable yet more dynamic as he is learning how God wants a personal relationship with him as he learns to pray and listen for His voice. The concept of loneliness in contrast with God’s ever-present strength is contrasted in Lance, and his journey reflects surrender to God’s will.

Jennifer Rodewald is a must-read inspirational author for fans of Courtney Walsh, Carla Laureano, and Lindsay Harrel for her stories of sweetly engaging romance and deep emotional themes.

Thank you to the author for the review copy. This is my honest review.