Review: “When I’m With You” by Jennifer Rodewald

Today I’m reviewing the third novel in Jennifer Rodewald’s “Big Prairie” series, When I’m With You. I would highly recommend this small-town series to fans of Courtney Walsh, Melissa Tagg, and Denise Hunter. Each story can be read as a standalone, but the setting and side characters are enhanced with an understanding of the series in order.

Book 1: When I Come Home Again | Book 2: When I Lost My Way

About the Book

He wants what he deserves, and this time he won’t walk away without it. Meeting Daisy Hopewell shouldn’t change a thing.

Lane Carson is sick of living like a wandering homeless man. When he receives a text message from a woman claiming to be his brother’s fiancée, nothing short of meeting her will convince him his reclusive older brother has worked up the courage to talk to a woman, let alone propose. And since he’s returning to Big Prairie, he’s determined to claim the inheritance that should have been his. As long as no one expects him to live up to his brother’s impossible standards.

Daisy Hopewell has found refuge in Big Prairie working as a hired hand at the Carson Ranch—an opportunity to prove that her worth goes much deeper than being a rich man’s daughter. Her haven is shaken, however, when the boss’s brother shows up. Lane Carson is nothing like his reserved, serious brother. And Daisy knows from experience that when you add massive flirt to good-looking, the result is heartbreak.

Meeting Daisy sidetracks Lane’s plans, especially when she turns out to be irritatingly immune to his charm. But after being caught with her in a devastating flood, Lane suddenly finds himself reevaluating his approach to everything. Daisy’s stubborn determination and unflappable kindness feed his burgeoning desire to be more than a reckless, selfish man, but the last thing Lane needs is to be deemed unworthy by yet another person in his world.

Daisy is discovering a depth to Lane she hadn’t expected, and with Daisy, Lane finds himself believing he could be a better man. But by the time he figures that out, it might be too late, because she’s determined never to play the fool again.

Can Lane and Daisy release the resentment they cling to from the disappointments of their pasts and step toward the possibility of being different—better—together?

Goodreads | Amazon

Review

Jennifer Rodewald’s stories are always woven with truth. When I’m With You delivers on that front, with a realistic romance and a prodigal’s return. Like Rodewald did with the second novel in this series, this third one employs a fantastic technique with a slightly overlapping timeline, layering the story and offering a new perspective on some events.

First and foremost, this is a story of transformation. Of God’s ability to redeem flaws and His pursuit His children. This is seen through Lane’s homecoming, though tinged with bitterness at first, and with Daisy’s intentional steps toward emotional healing.

The romance is sweet and fun, as I hoped it would be! Lane is quite the flirt by all appearances, but Daisy sees through his exterior of bravado and bitterness to the true heart underneath that’s longing for home. Through their ups and downs, dramatic events, and one HILARIOUS chicken rescue, their relationship unfolds in a natural way — with honest doubts and insecurity, sparkling attraction, and friendship.

One of the things that intrigues me most about this story is the contrast between brothers Lance and Lane. They illustrate the contrast in people, how we can be different, struggle to understand each other, yet still find a closeness. They are a great example of the baggage and beliefs we project onto relationships and the beauty God can forge in restoration.

Thank you to the author for the review copy. This is my honest review.

Review: “When I Lost My Way” by Jennifer Rodewald

I’m thrilled to share with you about an indie-published new release ~ When I Lost My Way by Jennifer Rodewald. It’s the second story in her Big Prairie romance series, though it can be read as a standalone. Some characters from book one make an appearance, though, so it is fun to know the context of their story, too!

Review of Book 1: When I Come Home Again

About the Book

Their whirlwind romance takes the hard road toward happily-ever-after as disaster tests their love for each other and their faith in God’s goodness.

Sophie Shultz smiles at her future, even when she doesn’t feel like it, but when a country drive leaves this city-girl stranded in the mud, the cowboy who stops to help gives her plenty to smile about. For real. Lance Carson is tall, handsome, and kind, if a little on the quiet side—not to mention the owner of Big Prairie’s celebrated vineyard.

Lance has always had a decided preference for solitude, but when he rescues Sophie he develops a whole new appreciation for companionship. It doesn’t take long for him to lose his heart as she fills the aching void life’s disappointments have left behind. But a family issue has put him in a hard spot, pushing him to a decision that will ruin his relationship with many of Big Prairie’s citizens—and devastate Sophie, who adores her newly adopted hometown. Before he can figure out how to tell her, someone tattles on his plans.

As their relationship is put to the test, conflict presses in from every side. Can this rapidly grown romance sink its roots deep enough to weather the storms, or will Lance and Sophie both lose their way?

Goodreads | Amazon

Review

When I Lost My Way is a beautiful story of romance, grace, and trusting in God’s strength.

I loved Sophie and Lance SO MUCH. Their rapport, from their slight humor to the almost-flirting and deep heart conversations, is natural and realistic. Their romance is sweet and selfless, highlighting how really knowing someone takes time and a desire to understand the other person’s motives and choices. I appreciate how they face their trials head on with honesty, even when it’s painful. One timely issue Jennifer sensitively sheds light on within their relationship is judgement and its ill effects, all in the context of relationship choices, identity, and skin color, referring to Biblical truths to shed light and draw the reader to a place of empathy.

I will be thinking about the deeper threads of this story long after the last page. Through the challenges, Sophie relies on God in an admirable way. Her trust in uncertainty and the way she seeks wisdom from scripture, her parents, and a respected friend is something to aspire to. Lance’s growth is relatable yet more dynamic as he is learning how God wants a personal relationship with him as he learns to pray and listen for His voice. The concept of loneliness in contrast with God’s ever-present strength is contrasted in Lance, and his journey reflects surrender to God’s will.

Jennifer Rodewald is a must-read inspirational author for fans of Courtney Walsh, Carla Laureano, and Lindsay Harrel for her stories of sweetly engaging romance and deep emotional themes.

Thank you to the author for the review copy. This is my honest review.