Review & Blog Tour: “The Debutante’s Code” by Erica Vetsch

Welcome to my stop on the tour for Erica Vetsch’s new historical mystery series start: The Debutante’s Code, a Thorndike and Swann Regency Mystery! Read on for more about the book, my thoughts, and enter the tour-wide giveaway!

About the Book

Jane Austen meets Sherlock Holmes in this new Regency mystery series

Newly returned from finishing school, Lady Juliette Thorndike is ready to debut in London society. Due to her years away, she hasn’t spent much time with her parents, and sees them only as the flighty, dilettante couple the other nobles love. But when they disappear, she discovers she never really knew them at all. They’ve been living double lives as government spies–and they’re only the latest in a long history of espionage that is the family’s legacy.

Now Lady Juliette is determined to continue their work. Mentored by her uncle, she plunges into the dangerous world of spies. From the glittering ballrooms of London to the fox hunts, regattas, and soirees of country high society, she must chase down hidden clues, solve the mysterious code her parents left behind, and stay out of danger. All the while, she has to keep her endeavors a secret from her best friend and her suitors–not to mention the nosy, irritatingly handsome Bow Street runner, who suspects her of a daring theft.

Can Lady Juliette outwit her enemies and complete her parents’ last mission?

Best-selling author Erica Vetsch is back with a rollicking, exciting new series destined to be a hit with Regency readers who enjoy a touch of mystery in their love stories. Fans of Julie Klassen, Sarah Ladd, and Anne Perry will love the wit, action, and romance.

Click here to read an excerpt | Goodreads | Amazon

Erica Vetsch is a New York Times best-selling and ACFW Carol Award–winning author. She is a transplanted Kansan now living in Minnesota with her husband, who she claims is both her total opposite and soul mate.

Vetsch is the author of many novellas and novels, including the popular Serendipity & Secrets Regency series and the new Thorndike & Swann Regency Mystery series

Vetsch loves Jesus, history, romance, and sports. When she’s not writing fiction, she’s planning her next trip to a history museum and cheering on her Kansas Jayhawks and New Zealand All Blacks.

Learn more about Erica Vetsch and her books at www.ericavetsch.com. She can also be found on Facebook (@EricaVetschAuthor), Instagram (@EricaVetsch) and Pinterest (Erica Vetsch).

Review

The Debutante’s Code is an FUN Regency mystery with many twists, turns, colorful characters, and a heroine to root for. As Juliette learns of her parents’ true field of work and her potential for helping solve a mystery she seems to be deeply involved in already, she sees her life in a different light. Her personality is perfectly suited to her role, as well! I appreciate the way Vetsch uses her characters’ place in society to add perspective, especially characters in unconventional situations or out of their comfort zones.

I’m excited that this series is going to focus on the same main characters. I love it when series continue developing a hero and heroine’s relationship, history, and depth through multiple books. Some of my favorites read that way. In this case, the romance is a little less prominent, but I see its foundation and I’m highly anticipating ALL the potential between Juliette and Daniel 🙂 in books to come.

As a fan of Vetsch’s “Serendipity & Secrets” series, I was delighted to see the Duke of Haverly and some people close to him make an appearance in this story! According to Vetsch, we will see more of those characters in the rest of this series.

Thank you to the publisher for the review copy. This is my honest review.

Click here to enter the giveaway!!!!

Open through December 31, 2021

One thought on “Review & Blog Tour: “The Debutante’s Code” by Erica Vetsch

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.