Review: “No One Ever Asked” by Katie Ganshert

IMG_20180425_224542_440.jpg

A few weeks ago, I was privileged to meet Katie Ganshert and a few other awesome authors at a library event near me. (insert fangirling squeal! They were amazingly kind and talked BOOKS!) Katie talked about her new release, No One Ever Asked, and its personal connection to her own story as an adoptive mom, along with some of the other aspects of the story and her research. Seeing her personality and passion for this story made my experience of reading it all the more special. I was highly anticipating No One Ever Asked, but the level at which it was emotionally gripping and spoke to my heart was unexpected. ❤ I love it when a story surprises me!

About the Book

Challenging perceptions of discrimination and prejudice, this emotionally resonant drama for readers of Lisa Wingate and Jodi Picoult explores three different women navigating challenges in a changing school district–and in their lives.No One Ever Asked cover

When an impoverished school district loses its accreditation and the affluent community of Crystal Ridge has no choice but to open their school doors, the lives of three very different women converge: Camille Gray–the wife of an executive, mother of three, long-standing PTA chairwoman and champion fundraiser–faced with a shocking discovery that threatens to tear her picture-perfect world apart at the seams. Jen Covington, the career nurse whose long, painful journey to motherhood finally resulted in adoption but she is struggling with a happily-ever-after so much harder than she anticipated. Twenty-two-year-old Anaya Jones–the first woman in her family to graduate college and a brand new teacher at Crystal Ridge’s top elementary school, unprepared for the powder-keg situation she’s stepped into. Tensions rise within and without, culminating in an unforeseen event that impacts them all. This story explores the implicit biases impacting American society, and asks the ultimate question: What does it mean to be human? Why are we so quick to put labels on each other and categorize people as “this” or “that”, when such complexity exists in each person?

Goodreads | Amazon

Review

Through three perspectives and experiences, these characters paint a picture of what mistakes and forgiveness, honesty and pain, and even joy and freedom look like in everyday life. To say I was caught up in the emotion and gravity of the story is putting it mildly. Katie Ganshert has a way with words that is a gift — this story is absolutely riveting and RELEVANT. And, the fact that it is inspired by true events in a neighboring state makes it equally more special and uniquely challenging.

If I could sum up my take-away from this novel, it would be just what author Katie Ganshert hopes to accomplish with this story: Empathy. Like Katie alludes in the author’s note, stories can be a great source of empathy and experiencing something from a different perspective or position. This story asks and confronts the hard questions. Everyone has problems. Everyone has a tinted view of the world due to their personal experiences and circumstances. And, under the truth of the Bible, everyone is equal. Our world and society says otherwise. It sells the lie that we are not the same. That we are measured by our paychecks, affluent (or not) homes, our shiny things and our race or color of our skin. This story tears through that false assumption and illustrates the shared heart of every person.

I want to say so much about this story. My words would not do it justice or capture the nuances of the characters that speak volumes about LIFE. Just read it.

I highly recommend No One Ever Asked. It is not light reading, but it is a necessary message and beacon in today’s world. We are all trying to figure out how to do this thing called life. We are all finding our places in God’s great plan. And, we are all called to LOVE one another with the kind of freedom only found in Christ.

Thank you to the publisher for the complimentary review copy. This is my honest and unsolicited review.

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Review: “No One Ever Asked” by Katie Ganshert

  1. I’m hearing amazing things about this one, so someday, I too will have to read it.

    …but more fun than this review, HOW COOL you got to meet Katie. That’s awesome. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Best of 2018: Contemporary Books – The Green Mockingbird

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.