Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen: Read-Along, Chapters 18-24

I’m participating in the March Read-Along of Northanger Abbey hosted by Amber over at Seasons of Humility. I’m a little behind now, but I’m slowly but surely making progress! I am determined to go through with these discussion posts, too. This one covers chapters 18-24.

Northanger Abbey Read-Along Graphic 2016 (2)

Discussion Format: One favorite quote, some general impressions, and three questions for each week’s reading.

Favorite Quote

While this quote is talking about John Thorpe’s regard for Catherine (ugh, please, give me a break), I do like it because it is an interesting expression:

“You know he is over head and ears in love with you.” -Isabella to Catherine, chapter 18

General Impressions

These chapters, like Amber noted, dragged on a bit, even though a few important things DID happen. My favorite parts were probably Henry and Catherine’s discussions. Especially the one about hyacinths! Such exclaiming over a trivial thing is a sign of their relationship being comfortable and familiar, in my opinion.

Questions

1. If you were Captain Tilney’s sibling, would you say something to him about his behavior toward Isabella? Or if you were Isabella’s friend, would you try to warn or correct her? What do you think of Henry’s reaction to Catherine’s concern about the situation?

I probably would, privately, like I suspect Henry did. After all, siblings are needed for encouragement and the occasional prodding! Isabella NEEDS some advice, but I don’t think she would take it!

I think Henry is very discerning and good for Catherine! He can clearly see Isabella’s inconstancy.

2. After reading all about Northanger Abbey, what are your thoughts of the place? Is it anything like you were expecting? Would you ever want to visit or live there if you could?

I’m not sure….I think it is like I expected! I am all for visiting, but I don’t think I would want to live in such a large place even if I could.

3. How do you feel about Catherine’s thoughts and behavior in this section? Was it all harmless intrigue, or do you thinks it’s possible to be too caught up in daydreams and fictional worlds?

It’s definitely possible to be too caught up in daydreams. I thought her added anxiety was a bit much — especially concerning Mr. Tilney (the father). She doesn’t have any grounds to go on making assumptions or even accusations toward him. I think it will get her in trouble!

 

Check out Amber’s Week 4 post for everyone’s answers/links to other posts.

2 thoughts on “Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen: Read-Along, Chapters 18-24

  1. Lol, yes that quote was great even though spoken about Thorpe. And yes, the whole flower conversation had me laughing! I mean honestly, if Catherine could go so far as to love a hyacinth who’s to say a rose isn’t next?! LOL! Yep, those thoughts of Catherine’s about Henry’s father do get her in trouble…but remember she is only 17 and very fond of the “horror stories of the day” so I thought it was natural that she let her imagination get the better of her. She grows from it so that is a good thing 🙂

    Keep plugging along at it Courtney! I’m so glad you are still reading it and put your post up! Looking forward to the next one! Are you going to watch the movie too?

    • That is true, she is growing from her experiences! Thank you for the encouragement 🙂 I will watch the movie at some point — my local library conveniently has a copy!

Leave a Reply

