Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen: Read-Along Week 3

I’m participating in the March Read-Along of Northanger Abbey hosted by Amber over at Seasons of HumilityWe’re on to chapters 11-17 now!

Northanger Abbey Read-Along Graphic 2016 (2)

Discussion Format: One favorite quote, some general impressions, and three questions for each week’s reading.

Favorite Quotes

…it is very well worth-while to be tormented for two or three years of one’s life, for the sake of being able to read all the rest of it. -ch 14

Catherine…enjoyed her usual happiness with Henry Tilney, listening with sparkling eyes to everything he said; and, in finding him irresistible, becoming so herself. -ch 16

General Impressions

I’m somewhat concerned about John Thorpe’s comment that he would not drive his sister in a carriage to the country because “she had such thick ankles.” It’s almost comical in considering his remark with our modern vocabulary! His blatant rudeness is no surprise to me, though. Similarly, the insincerity of Isabella is starting to grate on my nerves.

Please don’t think I’m not enjoying this story, with my little observations! Perhaps I’m just impressed (again) with Austen’s ability to write such vivid characters. We KNOW the Thorpes are fickle, Catherine is impressionable yet starting to stand on her own, and Henry Tilney is charming.

Happily, I found a version of my name in chapter 17: Mr. Tilney (the elder) mentioned a General Courteney!

Questions

1. How do you feel about the way Catherine handled herself with John, Isabella, and James when they pressured her into ditching her walk with the Tilneys in favor of their own outings? How do you feel about the way she explained herself to the Tilneys?

I was proud of her! I’m so glad she showed some spunkiness in refusing to let them sway her. And, I’m happy she sought out the Tilneys to offer an explanation.

2. Henry, his sister, and Catherine have an interesting discussion about books and education on their walk. What was your favorite part of that conversation? Did any of their opinions on novels, history, or the difficulties in learning to read resonate with you?

I ❤ the whole conversation about books, reading, and education! Particularly that Henry was so proud of confiscating his sister’s book to read it himself! That showed a playful side of him. As I mentioned on Twitter, he is such a grammar snob, and I like him for it. 🙂 As for their opinions on education, I thought it was a wise observation of regarding the effort and lifelong benefits one can have by reading.

3. We’ve been given more glimpses into Henry’s character – as well as Catherine’s infatuation with him. Do you think Catherine has fallen too hard too fast? Or do you think Henry is proving himself worthy of such admiration?

Hmm. Because I know a little of how the story will play out, I’m going to say I don’t think she’s fallen too fast. So far, they have an amiable relationship which she would like to grow, I think. One way he is proving his character is by how he’s treating his sister (and in later chapters, how he speaks of his brother).

What are your thoughts? Head over to Amber’s Week 3 post for everyone’s answers/links to other posts & to enter the new GIVEAWAY !

4 thoughts on “Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen: Read-Along Week 3

  1. I totally agree that Isabella is getting on my nerves! She is so fake! And I snort-laughed about the “thick ankles” when I read it, there is no doubt that John Thorpe is a jerk! I wish I remembered how this all ended, it would make me less stressed about the goings on for sure! Great post!

    • Yes, jerk is the perfect word for him. I only remember how it ends for Catherine, so I’m anxious, too! Isabella is definitely toying with Cath’s brother lately, and I’m not liking that, either. Thanks for visiting! I need to stop by your post soon!

  2. Ugh, it’s so awful how rude Thorpe is, even to his own family! There is no loyalty with that one. 😦

    Love the quotes you picked, as well as your observations about Tilney! That was so, so cute how he talked about running off with his sister’s book because he couldn’t wait to finish it, LOL. 😉

    ~Amber

Leave a Reply

