Top Ten Tuesday: Top 9 Books or series I wish someone would make into a movie/series

It’s another Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by  The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Tuesday at The Green Mockingbird

This week is a freebie topic! I’m choosing to go with books I wish someone would make into miniseries, TV series, or movies. So, make yourself some popcorn and read on for my ideas!

Top 9 Books or Series I wish someone would make into a movie/series

Miniseries

TTT Adaptation 1

#1 The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn by Lori Benton

No question about it, this book is my number one pick for being adapted into some form of film. I have always said it should be a miniseries, that way there would be enough time for all the little details to be included. Plus the budget would be higher for filming on location in rural TN. And we need authentic costumes. I can dream, right? Basically, I’d volunteer to work on the crew just to see it done. (History Channel, AMC, or Hallmark, are you listening?)

#2 The Price of Privilege series by Jessica Dotta (Born of Persuasion, Mark of Distinction, Price of Privilege)

It should be no surprise to see this on my list. Favorite. Series. Ever. And a miniseries would be awesome, yes?

TV series

TTT Adaptations 2

#3 The “Redemption” series (and subsequent related Baxter Family books) by Karen Kingsbury (some with Gary Smalley)

We have 23 books in 5 series that could be adapted, so I think it could be a very long-running series. (Ahem, Hallmark, since you’ve already adapted Karen’s The Bridge and book-based Cedar Cove, this could be your next hit series.)

(2/4 update: we have a contract! Karen & Roma Downey will be working together to bring the Baxter Family series to television!! http://deadline.com/2016/02/roma-downey-the-baxter-family-faith-based-novel-tv-series-1201694238/)

#4 “Christiansen Family” series by Susan May Warren

This is another that fits the TV series format! Though the 6 books could be a series of movies, too, what with each sibling having their own book.

Movie

TTT Adaptations 3.jpg

#5 The Butterfly and the Violin by Kristy Cambron

In the vein of The Book Thief or Woman in Gold, this would be an excellent historical drama on screen with 2 intertwining stories — present day and WWII.

#6 Five Days in Skye by Carla Laureano

Besides this being a great story, it made me want to go to Scotland. If it were made into a movie, I might not actually have to go there to see all the wonderful locations referenced in the story. Plus I’d like to see a cast with the great chemistry of James and Andrea (with Henry Cavill, of course).

#7 The Wedding Chapel by Rachel Hauck

With a large cast, this would be a fabulous family drama with flashbacks to the early story of a couple certain characters. It would be a perfect June Hallmark movie!

#8 The Headmistress of Rosemere by Sarah E. Ladd

Who doesn’t love a good Regency period drama with mystery and romance? With the right casting, it could be a new favorite!

#9 Here to Stay by Melissa Tagg

Because the world needs more good rom-coms! Why not one with realistic characters, a serious story of forgiveness, and small-town charm.

 

Well, that’s my list for now. How about you? Do you have any favorite books you’d like to see adapted to film of some kind? Share in the comments!

Advertisements

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top 9 Books or series I wish someone would make into a movie/series

    • Thank you! I SO enjoyed your list! I don’t remember the last time I read a play. I do know I started The Importance of Being Earnest once and enjoyed it…. I need to find it and start again!

  1. Ahh! YES! These are all amazing. Love seeing Susan’s, Melissa’s and Kristy’s books on this list. We need to work on Hallmark for Melissa’s and someone who won’t ruin the rest of these beautiful stories! 🙂

    What a fun topic for this do-whatever-we-want Top 10 Tuesday prompt. 🙂

    • Yes to Hallmark! I’m thinking they could do Melissa’s perfectly, if they maintained its serious moments, too. And it would make an awesome addition to their Christmas lineup! 🙂

  2. I want! All of this… 🙂 I always thought Dining With Joy would be a good TV show because it IS a TV show… and the mama character is hilarious. 🙂 IMHO of course. Good post, girl.

    • Thanks, Bekah! I’m so with you — I would PAY to see it, or volunteer to help make it, or shamelessly help promote it, etc. It would be amazing!

  3. I love your list Courtney! You already know I am SO WITH YOU on TPOTLJ! Please I need it!

    Also love that you included the Price of Privilege series, The Butterfly and the Violin, and Here to Stay. They are all favorites of mine and I would love to see them come to life 🙂

    • Thank you!!!!! I know 🙂

      And I’m happy more of your favorites are on my list! Those would be so good. Thanks for dropping by!

  4. Pingback: Series Feature: Price of Privilege by Jessica Dotta + My Dream Cast! – The Green Mockingbird

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s