Wednesday Wonderings, edition 5

It’s another “Wednesday Wonderings” question! Wednesday Wonderings

Do you keep a book or reading journal?

For this week, I wanted to keep with the usual theme around here: books. If you’re like me, sometimes reading more than one book at a time, it can be a bit tricky to keep your thoughts organized — especially if you plan to write a review on one.

Which now brings me to the subject of book journals. I know Goodreads is meant to be the virtual shelf/book-tracking solution, and it IS great, but there’s nothing that compares to hand-written thoughts and lists and quotes (as long as I can read my own writing later, hehe). Since I started reviewing books, I have developed the habit of tracking what I read in a book journal. It’s a good way for me to stay on track and record my thoughts as I read to come back to later.

I also keep a list of the books I’ve read in the current year, along with the dates I start and finish a book. I add my thoughts interspersed with quotes or descriptions of the plot. I have found it very helpful when reading a new book in a series, because I can look back at my impression of the previous one, even if I haven’t written a formal review of it somewhere online. Plus, it’s just fun to keep track of my reading journey!

So, do you write in one? What do you record? Commentary on the story, reading progress, quotes, analysis of the characters, reading lists, etc?

If you’re looking for a printable template for a reading journal, check out this one by the Modern Mrs. Darcy. I found it online the other day – it looks like a lot of fun! I may have to try it myself, soon.

And, if you track what you read on Goodreads, drop me a note and be my friend!

12 thoughts on “Wednesday Wonderings, edition 5

  1. I have been keeping a record of books read since 2007. Wow! I didn’t realize that until I checked. It just contains a list of books with author and genre. I use Book Note bookmarks when I read a book to record characters, plot devices, general thoughts and quotes. I started this a couple of years ago to help keep track of a book for review. Although I discard the note after I am finished with the review, writing down my thoughts plants them more concretely in my mind. I may have to start a more permanent record. Thanks for your post!

    • How awesome…8 years! Yes, there is something about writing it for me that helps me to remember the impression of the story. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, Beckie!

  2. Wow I never thought about it! I do write my reviews on paper but i don’t keep them once done..and keeping a journal is a good idea. But then I will be maintaining different journals for reviews and quotes and everything. I guess I’ll be making a journal for myself!

    • I didn’t keep a book journal for a while, even with reviews. I decided it would keep my notes more organized, and it grew from there! I’m so glad this might inspire you to make one. Thanks for visiting!

    • Yay for new things, right?! I’m not typically the journaling type, but I really enjoy keeping track of books πŸ™‚ I hope you start one, Ganise!

  3. Great topic! I actually don’t keep a book journal because a) I read far too much that I probably would go through journals very, very quickly, and b) I sort of use my blog as a way to keep track of my reading (the book reviews being an obvious one, I also have private pages listing out the books I’ve read on what year, and now I’m in the process of indexing my reviews and stuff). I would’ve love to use one though! Thanks for the link to the Modern Mrs. Darcy website, that template looks really cool πŸ˜€

    I do keep a quote journal though, which has been pretty handy in keeping track of some great lines that I come across while reading πŸ™‚

    • That’s a neat way to track it – and you can access it from several devices! It sounds like you read pretty fast, then :). You’re very welcome for the link. I hope to use that template some time, too!

      A quote journal = awesome. I sorta started one of those once, but it wasn’t just book quotes. That’s something I may need to do!

  4. I used to keep a quote journal (and still have it!), but now I keep my quotes online. It’s easier, since I read so much and I don’t have the time write out all the quotes. Plus if I want to use them in the future, it’s easier to find them πŸ™‚

    I do love seeing how people keep track though!

    • Yay for a quote journal! I have one of those lying around somewhere. Keeping them online seems to be a trend! That sounds like a convenient idea. (I wonder if Kindle app works like that?) πŸ™‚ Thank you for sharing, Jamie!

  5. I don’t currently use a book journal of any sort. I’ve mostly used my blog and goodreads to track what I read. If I like a quote, I’ll sometimes write it on a paper somewhere handy so I can think on it more, or if I’m reading on my kindle I love the highlight option where it puts all the quotes I’ve highlighted in a separate file! I LOVE that option. I occasionally will write out some thoughts on a book once I’m finished reading so I’ll have them to refer to once I write my review. But I usually toss the paper once the review is finished. On that note, I HAVE been thinking, recently, how handy it would be to keep some notes while reading to make my review writing easier. So in that case, a book journal of some sort would be nice. Perhaps I really need to actually check into it. And thanks for that link! That one looks great. πŸ™‚

    • Technology is so fun. For me, writing short (usually very short) notes or thoughts as I read helps me to really “think” about a story. It sounds like you are the perfect candidate to start a book journal! Remember, it doesn’t have to be formal or remotely organized. Just fun! I’m so glad you dropped by to share your answer, Kara!

Leave a Reply

