Review: “The Covered Deep” by Brandy Vallance

Today’s review is of The Covered Deep by Brandy Vallance, a debut historical romance/adventure set in the mid 1800s. After first hearing about this book from Cassie back in July, I was intrigued. I began my search for a review copy, and thanks to the folks at Worthy Publishing and Netgalley, I got my wish!

Here’s the synopsis: Bianca Marshal is holding out for the perfect The Covered Deephusband. Finding a man that meets the requirements of her must-have list in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains has proven impossible. Bianca’s mama insists that there’s no such thing as a perfect true love, and that Bianca’s ideal man is pure fiction. On the eve of her twenty-fifth birthday, Bianca discovers a devastating statistic: her chance of marrying is now only eighteen percent. Unwilling to accept spinsterhood, Bianca enters an essay contest that propels her into a whirlwind search for her soulmate. Via the opulence of London and the mysteries of the Holy Land, Bianca’s true love will be revealed, but not without a heavy price.

My thoughts: I have to be perfectly honest, this one narrowly escaped a 3-star rating on Goodreads because I thought the plot improved in the last half of the book. With that said, it was definitely worth reading, and I ended up liking it much better than I first thought I would.

Bianca was sweet, naive, dramatic, and a little hard to identify with at first. Her lovestruck-teenager attitude amd thoughts upon meeting Paul were immature and somewhat out of place. Thankfully, her character matures and becomes more likable.

The plot was intriguing at first but fell slightly short with Sir Adrian’s twisted schemes that come to light. Maybe a little more suspense or mystery where he’s concerned could have improved it. Paul was my favorite and the best-developed character. His story, emotions, and gentlemanly demeanor were well executed within the plot.

The setting and writing style were fabulous! Travel abroad shortly after the Civil War is an uncommon thing among books I’ve read. The way Brandy writes Bianca’s experience from London and to the Holy Lands takes you along wither her, seeing great places for the first time. Brandy’s writing style used prose-like descriptions of scenes. (By the way, I loved the way the title “the covered deep” fits in with symbolism and word imagery in the book).

It had great themes of forgiveness, faith, and perseverance. Bianca begins with seeking a man who fits her “list”, but finds her expectations and God’s plan are two different things.

Thank you to Netgalley and Worthy Publishing for an ebook copy in exchange for my honest review.

 

3 thoughts on “Review: “The Covered Deep” by Brandy Vallance

  1. Thanks for the shout-out, Courtney! This book definitely had it’s ups and downs for me. Not sure if it was really my thing in the end, but I am interested to see what Brandy’s next book will be about!

    • You’re quite welcome! I know what you mean. I will be interested in her next story for sure. I was impressed with her writing style.

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Favorite Jane Austen-Esque Romances – The Green Mockingbird

Leave a Reply

