Wednesday Wonderings, edition 2

It’s another “Wednesday Wonderings” question!

Wednesday Wonderings

With Thanksgiving this week and Christmas literally around the corner, it’s a time to be thankful and ponder the joys of the season. I think part of the fun and “wonder” of the holidays is all of the decorations! So, I’m wondering if any of you have fully decorated for Christmas yet. For myself, I’ve been enjoying Hallmark Christmas movies all month, but I haven’t put out the glitter yet.

THE question: Doย you put up your Christmas tree/decorations before Thanksgiving?ย 

13. "Christmas Tree"

my tree, taken a few years ago

I typically put mine up the weekend after Thanksgiving, and it comes down some time after New Year’s. I like toย celebrate the last part of “fall” with pumpkins and turkey on Thanksgiving, then break out the Christmas stuff afterwards. I know there are some people who can’t wait that long, who have their tree out from November through January. And some people wait until Christmas Eve to decorate a tree (I could never do that! I love seeing it all month long.) I guess I’m somewhere in the middle ๐Ÿ™‚

What are your thoughts? Do you have your tree up? Or do you think before Thanksgiving is waaaay too early? (Are you one of those people who waits until Christmas Eve???)

7 thoughts on “Wednesday Wonderings, edition 2

  1. I love both holidays so much, so I wait until after Thanksgiving. If I’m in town, then it’s as soon as I get up on Friday ๐Ÿ™‚ Since I’m traveling this year, I’ll get the Christmas decorations out come Sunday right after the airport! Woot! P.S. Your tree is so pretty!!

    Do you have a fake tree or get a real one?

    • You won’t waste any time! Putting up the tree can even be fun with jetlag ๐Ÿ™‚ And thank you! I have a fake tree and so does my mom (still the same one I had growing up – they don’t make them like they used to). They are just way easier to handle. Nothing smells quite like a real one, but nothing is as messy, in my opinion. Do you get a real one?

      • Agreed! I’ve gone back and forth with fake vs. real trees. The past two years I’ve had real ones, but before that I had a fake one (and then it was a piece, so I had to get rid of it – haha :). I think I might do a small real one this year. The big ones get sooo messy!! Smaller ones are more manageable and I don’t want to buy a fake one ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. What fun! We put ours up Thanksgiving weekend (the tree will come down between Friday – Sunday) and I usually get the house in order before hauling down all the tubs then we keep things decorated until the end of January, probably because we usually have one more family Christmas in January, plus the rule has always been the decorations (or specifically the tree since some of our stuff is more winter) has to be down by dad’s birthday which is January 31st. It’s such a fun time of year that it’s nice to keep things up for a while. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours, Courtney. Hope it’s a good holiday. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Sounds like fun! Thanks for sharing. It takes my family a few days to drag everything out and get it up, too. That’s just part of the fun ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m with you, it’s such a fabulous time of year it’s great to embrace it into January. Happy Thanksgiving to you, as well!

  4. I don’t have any decorations currently. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I know! I really need to remedy that. Other household stuff has taken priority this year. But I can say that my old roommate in CA had TONS of Christmas decorations, which I loved. She always started the day after Thanksgiving and took them down on New Year’s Day. So we had a whole month of enjoying them. And did we ever! I’m really missing that this year, actually.

    Also? I can’t imagine waiting to put up the tree until Christmas Eve. I see that in a lot of movies, but still! That’s only one day of enjoying it! Why do that when you could enjoy it for an entire month?! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • You MUST run to your nearest store and pick up some decorations now! I won’t allow you to go on tree-less ๐Ÿ™‚ Seriously though, I know life can get crazy. Maybe you’ll have some time soon to remedy that and take a deep breath.

      And YES! I can’t imagine waiting that long, especially if you have the opportunity to put your stuff up sooner. Let’s just hope that happens in the movies more often than real life.

Leave a Reply

