Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Book Cover Trends I Like

It’s another Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by  The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Tuesday at The Green Mockingbird

Top Ten Book Cover Trends I Like

This Tuesday’s topic encompasses two more things I love: books and art. This week, I’m showcasing some book cover trends I like. I’ve come up with way more than 10 books that fall into different categories. In fact, some of these books fit into multiple categories.

Faceless Models

Okay, before you think that sentence is creepy, check out these examples of beautiful covers where the model character’s face is not visible. This adds more mystery to his/her identity, and allows you to develop your own picture of the character in your mind.

Cover Trends 1

A Lady at Willowgrove Hall by Sarah E. Ladd

Home Another Way by Christa Parrish

Into the Whirlwind by Elizabeth Camden (see my review here)

Landscape Scenes

Scenic and lush. Whether it’s the main part of the cover or just the background.

Cover Trends 2

Wishing on Willows by Katie Ganshert

Seagrass Pier by Colleen Coble

A Thousand Tomorrows by Karen Kingsbury

The Last Sin Eater by Francine Rivers

Dresses

This one is fun and girly. I love covers which feature a beautiful dress. Some of these could fit in the “faceless models” category, too 🙂 .

Cover Trends 3

A Bride Most Begrudging by Deeanne Gist

The Colonel’s Lady by Laura Frantz

A Beauty So Rare by Tamera Alexander (read my review here)

Forget Me Not by Amber Stokes

Hands

Sometimes simple is the best. There’s something personal and pretty about closeups of people’s hands – especially when they are holding an object important to the story.

Cover Trends 4

A Stillness of Chimes by Meg Moseley (read my review here)

Stones for Bread by Christa Parrish

The Disappearing Key by Wendy Paine Miller

Prominent Text

Eye-catching text – whether totally featuring text and graphic design, or just prominent overlayed text.

Cover Trends 5

It Had to Be You by Susan May Warren (read my review here)

It Happened at the Fair by Deeanne Gist

Dear Mr. Knightley by Katherine Reay (read my review here)

When Mountains Move by Julie Cantrell

What are your favorite book cover trends? What trends do you NOT like?

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Book Cover Trends I Like

    • Heidi, I know what you mean! Sometimes they can look too contemporary – especially their clothing. But when it’s right, it’s right!! Thank for visiting my blog!
      Courtney

  1. I think covers featuring awesome text or typography are one of my top favourite picks! And I may not wear a lot of puffy dresses myself…buuuut, I love them on book covers. So whimsical!
    My TTT!

  2. Cool picks, Courtney. I agree with the text being prominent. Those are SO cool. It’s a newer trend far as I know, but it seems to work really well and I like that. 🙂

    Dresses are always a “must” too. Who among us doesn’t love the idea of getting to get all dressed up once in a while?? 😉

    • I think it’s a fairly new trend, too, for text to be prominent. I think they can be so pretty.

      I love your picks for TTT, too! So many great covers to choose from… it WAS tough this week, but in a good way.

      Always fun for you to drop by, Rissi!

    • Thanks, Katie! And thanks for dropping by 🙂 I love yours this week for TTT, too. The Sentinels of Andersonville is such a striking cover – the more you look at it, the more details you see 🙂 It’s a fave of mine, too.

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Books People Have Been Telling Me I MUST Read | The Green Mockingbird

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.